Skip to Main Content


News and Events Archives

Back to News Archive
Columbia College-Jefferson City to award scholarships
Tuesday, June 21, 2005

(Jefferson City, MO)-Columbia College-Jefferson City will award $3,000 in scholarships to deserving students at its third annual Alumni Scholarship Banquet June 24.

The banquet will be held at the Meadow Lake Acres Country Club in New Bloomfield. A silent auction and raffle will take place to help fund the scholarships for the next academic year.

Three scholarships will be presented. The Jefferson City Alumni Scholarship in the amount of $1,000 will be awarded to a student with at least 24 hours with Columbia College and a grade point average of 3.2 or higher. The Jefferson Scholarship in the amount of $1,500 will be awarded to a nontraditional student who has completed at least 60 hours of credit, 12 of which are with Columbia College, and who has a minimum grade point average of 3.5. And the Frank S. Westling Scholarship in the amount of $500 will be awarded to an Extended Studies or Online Campus student pursuing a degree with a minimum grade point average of 3.0 and 15 hours with Columbia College. This student also must show evidence of leadership and service to the community, college and/or country within the past 12 months, as well as write a 400-500 word essay on their achievements and career goals.

"These scholarships not only recognize students for their outstanding academic achievements, but they also help alleviate some of the financial stress of pursuing a college degree," said Columbia College-Jefferson City Director Kim Bonine. "We will be pleased to present them to worthy students."

The banquet will begin with a social hour at 6 p.m. Tickets are $25 per person and are available by calling the Columbia College-Jefferson City campus at (573) 634-3250.

Columbia College serves more than 20,000 students nationwide each year through its Day Campus, Evening Campus, Online Campus, 30 Nationwide/Extended Campuses and Graduate Studies Program. The college was founded in Missouri in 1851.