Skip to Main Content


News Releases

Collegewide News

Back to Newsroom

Columbia College Evening Campus inducts new members into Alpha Sigma Lambda honor society

Columbia College's Evening Campus will recognize high-achieving adult students with a ceremony to induct new members into the Nu Omicron chapter of Alpha Sigma Lambda (ASL) honor society at 4:30 p.m. Friday, Nov. 5, in Dorsey Chapel on the campus of Columbia College, 1001 Rogers Street and 10th Street. Columbia College Evening Campus students who have achieved a GPA of 3.5 or higher, have junior status and meet residency requirements are inducted each year into the national honor society. Featured speakers will include Dr. Gerald T. Brouder, Columbia College president, and Dr. Terry B. Smith, executive vice president and dean for Academic Affairs and professor of Political Science.

Originally founded at Northwestern University more than 60 years ago by Dr. Rollin B. Posey, ASL honors dedicated adult students who, while handling their life responsibilities, achieve and maintain high scholastic standards. For the nontraditional student, the honor society stands as an inspiration for continuing scholastic growth, and is a builder of pride through recognition. For the chapter institution, the honor society serves as a vehicle for imparting appreciation for adult students' academic achievements and contributions. The induction ceremony takes place each year in the first week of November to commemorate National Non-Traditional Students Week.

To this day Alpha Sigma Lambda is not only the oldest, but largest, chapter-based honor society for full- and part-time students. There are more than 300 chartered chapters throughout the United States, nine of which are Columbia College chapters. The following Columbia College campuses have established ASL chapters: Evening Campus, Online Campus, Ft. Leonard Wood, Rolla, Mo., Los Alamitos, Calif., Elgin, Ill., Lake County, Ill., Crystal Lake, Ill. and Freeport, Ill. The Nu-Omicron Chapter at Columbia College's Evening Campus was established in 2008.

For more information on Columbia College's Evening Campus, please visit

Columbia College, a private, nonprofit institution founded in 1851 in Columbia, Mo., educates more than 29,000 students each year and has more than 64,000 alumni worldwide. For more information, visit

New Inductees: Christopher A. Archuleta Phillip R. Armstrong Ramona C. Bade Bradley T. Bootz Emily C. Derendinger-Meadows Janet M. Eddy Shauna K. Fisher Joelle Faith Fronzaglio David R. Hickman Tyler A. Kilgore Christopher S. Lynn Tammy E. Mann Marianne Martinez Lindsay I. Morris Roxanne R. Mowrey Susan M. Pew Nathan C. Schildmeyer Geoffrey S. Shackelford Candace N. Smith William E. Summers Belinda L. Thompson Cory W. Welch Virginia A. Young