Skip to Main Content


News Releases

Collegewide News

Back to Newsroom

Columbia College Athletic Hall of Fame inducts new members

Two outstanding female athletes and one outstanding team will be inducted into the Athletic Hall of Fame at 7:45 p.m. on Friday, Oct. 15, in Dulany Hall's banquet room on the Columbia College campus.

Monica Mueller Clayton-Softball, 2001-05

Lisa Marie Kowalewski-Women's Basketball, 2001-05

1989-90 Men's Basketball Team

A 6:30 p.m. social and 7 p.m. dinner will precede the event.

Monica Mueller Clayton - As a member of the Cougar women's 2002-2005 softball team, Clayton received several honors including First Team All-Conference each year, Conference Pitcher of the year in 2004 and 2005, and NAIA All-American in 2003, 2004 and 2005. During the 2005 season, Clayton served as team captain. She holds the Columbia College Single Season Strike-Out Record with 310 and the second lowest ERA in school history with a .550. Clayton teaches 6th grade in Hannibal, Mo., where she and her family reside.

Lisa Marie Kowalewski - Lisa Marie Kowalewski finished her basketball career at Columbia College as a two-time Honorable Mention All-American, two-time Academic All-American and four-time First Team All-AMC (American Midwest Conference). Kowalewski totaled 696 rebounds, 341 assists, 230 steals, 53 blocks and currently holds the Columbia College career scoring record for women's and men's basketball players with 2,079 points. While pursuing an overseas professional basketball career, the WNBA's Phoenix Mercury presented Kowalewski with an incredible opportunity in sales. Kowalewski lives in Phoenix and has worked for the past five years in sales and marketing for the team.

1989-90 Men's Basketball Team - The Columbia College 1989-90 Men's Basketball Team was the first Columbia College athletic team to reach an NAIA National Tournament. With a 30-8 season record, the team had the best regular-season record in the history of the basketball program. The team advanced to the Sweet 16 of the NAIA National Tournament before being eliminated by Oral Roberts University.

The team consisted of Stacy Batson '92, Corey Gulley '94, Jeff Hamilton '91, Marvin Malone '91, Thomas Roberts '91, Shawn Russell '91, Ed Talton '91, Kyle Thoma '93, David Williams '90, and Eddie Wilson. During the 1989-1990 season, Coach Robert Burchard was selected as Conference and District 16 Coach of the Year.

Columbia College, a private, nonprofit institution founded in 1851 in Columbia, Mo., educates more than 29,000 students each year and has more than 64,000 alumni worldwide. For more information, visit