Skip to Main Content


Decennial Reaccreditation visit, October, 2012

A seven-person team from the Higher Learning Commission (see below) visited the Main Campus in October 2012 to review Columbia College's petition for reaccreditation. The visit included meetings with faculty, staff, students, alumni and Board of Trustees members and review of documents.

The team recommended the maximum ten-year reaccreditation.

More information will be posted after the HLC Board of Trustees acts on the recommendations in Spring 2013. Read the College's Self-Study ReportPDF document icon.

Beginning in 2013, a number of Nationwide Campuses will be visited. Details about these visits will follow on this website.

Higher Learning Commission

Higher Learning Commission Mark of Affiliation

In the United States, colleges and universities voluntarily seek accreditation from nongovernmental bodies. Institutional accreditation is provided by The Higher Learning Commission. Institutional accreditation is provided by regional and national associations of schools and colleges. There are six regional associations, each named after the region in which it operates (Middle States, New England, North Central, Northwest, Southern, Western). Columbia College is included in the North Central region of the Higher Learning Commission.. An institutional accrediting agency evaluates an entire educational organization in terms of its mission and the agency's standards or criteria.

Columbia College has been accredited by The Higher Learning Commission and a member of the North Central Association since 1918.

The Higher Learning Commission
North Central Association of Colleges and Schools
Commission on Institutions
230 South LaSalle Street, Suite 7-500
Chicago, IL 60604
Telephone: 312-263-0456 or